Under arrest and accused with DUI/OWI doesn’t only happen to dishonest people. For many new law breakers, this is the first time that they have ever been in trouble with this kind of charge. Sadly, the castigation, penalty and sentence for first-time DUI offense are quite severe and rigorous. If you are charged with drunk driving for the first time, your first call should be to an expert DUI lawyer.
In Michigan, You may be charged if office believes that your ability to driver is lessened by use of alcohol (OWI) or may be noticed by another person (OWVI).The legal limit for driving with alcohol, those are over the age of 21 is .08 percent. If your blood content alcohol, or BAC, which is over the legal limit, you will be charged with drunk driving. Without justifying the circumstances, DUI offense is classified as misdemeanor. Possibility of 93 days sentence in jail is possible, although first-time lawbreakers will never see the jail for long time. In some courts, Judges gives jail to the first-timer lawbreakers but experience DUI lawyer such as Drunk Driving Lawyer in East Lansing can help you figure the case out.DUI charges can change your life negatively for year if you don’t get the help from dependable lawyer.
Prosecutor can use any evidence against you so it`s important to know about them and how effectively they can be get to the point of charging you with. So to improve your situation in court and before prosecutor, East Lansing DUI lawyers will fight for you at every step of the case and help you in investigation of legality of police`s conduct in stopping you vehicle. The constitutionality of statements you made with evaluation of tests to determining blood alcohol content all will be checked by our expert lawyers. You may pay extreme fines when charged with OWVI and if you are charged with OWI just because you are OUIL or BAC, then you have to more even more in fines.
Why we should hire lawyer for drunk driving:
Among other cities such as Detroit, Grand Rapids or Lansing, The East Lansing Police Department leads the drunken driving arrest. They have large student population and in Lansing population is in less numbers then other larger cities. The police crackdown is often held by Michigan State University. Neighboring cities like Ann Arbor doesn’t have the ratio of DUI arrest as compared to Lansing. So it`s good to take help from Drunk Driving 1Lawyer in East Lansing.
Penalties and Fines for drunk driving in Michigan:
Here is a general overview of the Michigan drunk driving penalties and fines. It’s essential for you that you should aware of the penalties and all other legal options you have.
1st offense for Drunk Driving in East Lansing:
This level of charge is for misdemeanor and usually result in suspend of license up to six months and fine in between $100 – $500 along with chances of 93 days in jail sentenced. Depends upon the carefulness of judge, first-time law breakers might have to serve 360 hours of community service, ignition interlock device installed in your card or your vehicle can be immobilized for 180 days. Six points will be added to you driving license and it will be suspended for 30days or will be restricted for total of 150 days.
2nd offense for Drunk Driving in East Lansing:
This level of charge is also for misdemeanor and usually result in suspend of license for one full year minimum. Associated fine can be between $200 up to $1000. Over the top of this fee driver also charged with driver responsibility fee which is $1000 added. Your plates will be immediately taken with six points added and jail can be from 5 days to full year. Depends upon judge`s decision, you could face 30-90 days of community service, also ignition interlock device being installed in your car and immobilization of vehicle for 90-180 days.
3rd offense for Drunk Driving in East Lansing:
A third offense charges are much more serious than the previous 2 charges. The third charge is classed as a felony and lawbreaking. Minimum one year of driving license will be suspended and jail time for 3rd offence is one to five years. Just like 2nd offense, six points will be added and number plates will be taken away. Judge can order 60-180 days of community service, ignition locking device and vehicle immobilization for 1-3 year are the part of 3rd offense charges.